20 Weeks

I’m so excited that I’m 20 weeks today, it’s actually starting to feel like I’m really pregnant, this is really happening. In light of that today’s post is going to be about my pregnancy, I feel like I’ve neglected to write about any positive pregnancy thoughts or symptoms. I plan to eventually start a blog that isn’t private and that won’t focus on infertility but I’m still hesitant to do that just yet. Maybe 24 weeks will be the magic number, I’m going to wait and see how I feel.

The most exciting recent development has been feeling the little guy move around. I’ve been feeling him for a few weeks now and every time it brings a smile to my face. Last night I had my hand on my belly and felt him kick from the outside. Guillermo was sitting next to me and I was so excited, I grabbed his hand and put it on my stomach and felt another kick but Guillermo didn’t feel it. I imagine he will be able to feel him kicking soon.

In the last few weeks my belly has gone from looking like I had a big lunch to definitely looking like I’m pregnant. One of my co-workers is two months ahead of me and she went on vacation for a week when she was around 20 weeks looking like she wasn’t pregnant and came back with an obviously pregnant belly. I feel like the same thing happened to me when I got back from visiting family. Last weekend I tried on all of my newly inherited maternity clothes and organized my closet so one side is all clothes that still fit or maternity clothes. It has been nice this week to just wake up and throw on an outfit. My pants with a really low waist still fit but the other ones are way too tight. I can still zip up my coats and am hoping that lasts until April when it gets warmer here.

The only things I miss since getting pregnant are sex and exercise. I’m guessing it’s because I knew I would have to stop drinking alcohol and caffeine but wasn’t planning to stop having sex or exercise for 9 months. It’s funny, I’ll be watching TV and get jealous when I see someone working out. Guillermo is so sweet and always works out before I get home from work so he doesn’t feel like he’s rubbing it in that he can still work out. He also apologizes every time he goes snowboarding. I do miss snowboarding but knew I wouldn’t be able to go this winter. I keep reminding myself that at least I’m not on bed rest and that makes me feel better.

The most surprising thing I’ve found about being pregnant is that I don’t feel very different. I’ve heard so many pregnant women complain about how awful it is being pregnant and am pleasantly surprised to find it’s not so bad, in fact I really enjoy being pregnant. Maybe I’m speaking too soon because I’m only half way there, but so far so good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 Weeks

  1. I’m so glad to hear about some positive feelings and experiences for you! 20 weeks — yeahoo!!

  2. Katy says:

    So glad you are feeling so good! I’m envious if you regular pants wearing, my hips decided that the moment I got pregnant they would expand! Not to mention all your hand me downs…the only people I know who have kiddos have small ta-tas and well as you have seen I do not! So no hand me downs for me!
    Don’t ya just love the little kicks!!!

Leave a Reply

