Back to the OB

We had an appointment scheduled for the OB tomorrow morning but Guillermo was worried that he couldn’t get out of work and didn’t want to miss it again so I called the office and they had an opening this afternoon. One day early, I was all over that.

The OB doc asked us if we had any questions to start with.

Guillermo – What do you think the chances of miscarriage are at this point? (Not a question I would have asked because I didn’t really want to know the answer.)

Doc – around 5-10% but that means you have a 90-95% chance of not miscarrying.

Me- Is the separation and bleeding something you see very often?

Doc – I would say with you being over 15 weeks the average OB doc would see this once every 20 years.

Looks like I’m a strange case again. Not liking that at all. The doctor did say that he works in the Big City at a hospital a few times a week and is really close to some Perinatologists. If I don’t mind he is going to run everything about me by them and see if they have any different suggestions. I don’t mind at all, in fact I’m wondering if I should have gone that route from the beginning.

The doctor did another ultrasound and the area of bleeding is about the same as last week. He did say that it is now behind the placenta but only 10-20% and usually the placenta doesn’t rupture until around 50%. He also said the little one is measuring right on track so that is a relief. He still couldn’t tell if it’s a boy or girl, a few more weeks for that.

The doctor is going to call me on Tuesday and let me know what the Perinatologist said and if I need to make an appointment and go to the Big City to see him. I feel a little better knowing the little one is growing on track. This really is going to be a long 9 months, I had no idea I would still be worried this far into the pregnancy. When I first found out I was pregnant I was just thinking of making it past 7 and 8 weeks where I miscarried last time. If this little one makes it he/she is going to be quite the fighter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to the OB

  1. Kat says:

    I can’t wait to hear what the other docs have to say, I’ll be praying for good answers!

Leave a Reply

