ER Visit

I was in bed reading last night when all of a sudden I felt a gush. I went to the bathroom and it was blood, lots and lots of bright red blood along with blood clots. I told Guillermo we need to get to the ER right away.

The drive there was awful, I was bawling and Guillermo was extremely upset. We got checked in and taken back in about 15 minutes. My blood pressure was so high because I was freaking out, I thought I had lost the baby for sure. There was so much blood. The doctor finally came in and did an ultrasound and we could see the baby and the heart beat was ok so that was a bit of a relief. Then the doctor said he was going to do a vaginal exam. I still had my underwear on under the gown because I needed a pad and he told me to take them off. I was sitting on just a sheet on the exam table and told the doctor that he needed to put a pad under me, I don’t think he had any idea of how much I was actually bleeding. He put down the pad and when he started the exam I felt a huge gush of blood come out. The pad he put down on the table didn’t even really do any good, there was just so much blood. It was awful. Even though I had just seen the baby on the ultrasound I was still so scared that I was going to have another miscarriage. The doctor used tongs to pull out a golf ball sized clot and then went to call my ob doctor while the nurse cleaned me and the room up and started an IV to give me some fluids since I had lost so much blood.

The ER doctor came back about a half hour later and had my doctor on the phone. My OB said it is a good sign that the heartbeat was strong but there was nothing they could do at this point about the bleeding and to just go home, go to bed, and call the office in the morning to make an appointment to see him.

Needless to say even though we got home after 2:00 in the morning and I was exhausted I didn’t sleep well at all. Poor Guillermo had to get up to go to work at 7:00.

Guillermo somehow skipped out of work and met me at the OB office. The ultrasound showed the baby moving around with a strong heart rate. The OB said the bleeding is still related to the sac separation and there is still a lot of blood and some clots that will need to come out. He assured us that the baby isn’t at all distressed because of the bleeding but I feel like he just says that to make us feel better because there is nothing he can do. He told me there is an elevated risk for miscarriage and I needed to continue to take it easy. He said to expect a lot more bleeding but not to be concerned unless I soak through two pads in an hour or feel contractions. If I ever want to come in for an ultrasound for peace of mind before my appointment in two weeks I just need to call the office.

I’m so terrified that I’m going to loose this baby. I was just starting to feel like everything was going to be ok and now I’m right back to how I felt at 6 weeks when I first started bleeding.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ER Visit

  1. Kat says:

    How terrifying! I’m so sorry you had to go through that. As always, you guys are in my prayers.

  2. Oh my gosh that sounds so scary! I hope that this is your last scare. Hang in there- we are all pulling you.

  3. Katy says:

    Just wondering how you are? I’ve been thinking about you.
    (this is “Kat” from trying to make 3, I moved to another blog)

Leave a Reply

