Very Productive 2012

The older I get New Years Eve just isn’t what it used to be.  Several of my work friends invited me to go night skiing and to watch the fireworks at the resort but I had to tell them I didn’t want to because it was too cold (I know dumb excuse, but is was REALLY cold last night).  Guillermo was working and I was on the couch reading when my next door neighbor stopped by and invited me over for some gumbo.  The gumbo was delicious and the group of friends were a lot of fun.  I got home at about 10 and Guillermo was home right after me.  We actually made it up until midnight to give each other a happy new year kiss.

Guillermo and I started talking about 2012 and came to the conclusion that it was a very productive year.  It was one of those years where we worked really hard not just for instant gratification but for the future.  Here are a few of the things we accomplished:

  • In May we finally closed on a huge financial deal that Guillermo had been working on for almost a year.  It took everything we had to scrape together the necessary means and we will be stretched thin financially for a few years but the hope is that it will pay off huge in the future.
  • We bought our house five years ago knowing that we needed to do some remodeling in the near future.  We have been slowly upgrading since we moved here, new appliances, painting the outside and putting in a patio. This year we finally tackled the huge project we have been putting off.  We had white carpet throughout the entire main level and on the stairs.  Seriously, white carpet in the mountains?  Who would do that and why?  We always took our shoes off but with a dog it was impossible to keep clean.  There also was a wall in the family room where they had screwed in half logs to make it look like a log cabin unfortunately they missed the mark, it just looked tacky.  The walls were painted this ugly green color and  bright red with orange highlights on one wall.  The painting job was so bad too, there was paint on the ceiling and on the trim.  There was also ugly white linoleum in the kitchen, laundry room, and entryway.  Instead of taking a vacation in May when the restaurant is closed for the slow season we tackled the house.  We put in laminate wood floors, new tile, painted the entire main level, ceiling, entryway, laundry room, put up all new trim, painted all of the doors, replaced all of the light switch covers, outlet covers, door handles, and vent covers, and put in new cabinets in the laundry room. Oh, and got rid of the log cabin wall.  We did it all ourselves with a little help from one of Guillermo’s employees who does construction on the side.  We saved so much money and the transformation is amazing.
  • We started going back to the RE’s office in May to organize the FET and it ended up being such a long drawn out process that we didn’t have the transfer until November.  Part of the problem was I found out in June that my Internal Medicine doctor who I had been going to for years was moving so I had to find a new doctor.  I need to get IV infusions every 8 weeks to keep my Ulcerative Colitis under control so I had to have a doctor to oversee this and I needed to line it up before even thinking about doing the FET.  My doctor referred me to a Nurse Practitioner who works in a town close to mine.  I made an appointment to meet her, then she had me come back in for a physical, then blood work, then more blood work, and after all that I found out that she couldn’t get my medication authorized because she isn’t a doctor.  So, I had to go to the big city and see the other doctor I was referred to who is a Gastroenterologist.  Unfortunately he wasn’t taking new patients and in order for me to get my foot in the door I had to have a colonoscopy with him.  When I finally got everything situated I went back to the RE and that’s when I found out about the fibroid and had to have surgery.  Then the cancelled FET and no period for a long time, and finally the FET.  I went to so many doctors appointments this summer, it was crazy.  It seemed like that’s all I did on my days off.  But, so far so good!  If this works out the hectic summer with hundreds of doctors appointments will be well worth it.

Whew, what a lot of hard work. Here’s to a happy 2013.  I hope this year is more fun and much easier.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Very Productive 2012

  1. Kat says:

    Wow it has been a big year for you guys! Here’s to a bigger and better 2013!

  2. Kristin says:

    A big year! Do you have before and after pics of the renovation?!

Leave a Reply

