Merry Christmas

IMAG0728 IMAG0727

 

Merry Christmas!!!  I woke up to a beautiful winter wonderland, so happy for all the new snow and a white Christmas.  I just love living in the mountains.

Yesterday we had another ultrasound bright and early at the RE’s office in the big city.  We were so nervous after the bleeding and really didn’t know what to expect.  The tech stuck in the probe and didn’t say anything for what seemed like forever and we couldn’t see the baby on the screen.  Finally she said “here is the empty sac” and proceeded to measure it as we are both freaking out inside.  She finally moved on to what we had been waiting for and it was such great news.  The baby’s heart rate was 180!!!  It has arm and leg buds and we could see it moving.  WOW.  She showed us how the umbilical cord and placenta are developing.  It was surreal.  We are finally past the point where we lost the babies last time and it feels so good.  The sac separation is still there and I still have strict restrictions on all activity but everything else is looking great.  I’ll have my estrogen and progesterone levels checked again on Friday and the nurse said at that point she will start to wean me off of all the meds.  She also said that I don’t have to go back to the RE’s office again.  So exciting!

We were so nervous about having the appointment on Christmas eve.  It could have been a disaster but ended up being the best Christmas present that either of us have ever had or could even dream of.

Guillermo finally told his parents.  He texted them an ultrasound picture and “It really is going to be a very merry Christmas”.  His mom called back and I could hear her crying and so excited.  It was just awesome.  She wasn’t with Guillermo’s dad so she told him when she got home and he called Guillermo later in the day.  Guillermo’s dad is a tough guy who doesn’t show much emotion EVER but he told Guillermo that when his wife gave him the news they just hugged and cried and cried they were so happy.  I’m getting tears in my eyes just writing this.

Our Christmas tradition is to make breakfast and then go snowboarding on Christmas morning.  It’s the only day during the holidays that isn’t packed on the slopes because everyone is home opening gifts.  This morning with all of the new snow  I insisted that Guillermo go snowboarding without me,  he’s meeting up with a group of friends so he won’t have to go alone.  As he was leaving he said “I’m sorry you can’t go snowboarding but I’m just so happy you can’t go”.  I completely agree.  I have never been so happy to pass on 10 new inches of snow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. What a gorgeous view & picture!! Yay to a VERY Merry Christmas!! 🙂
    Bree

  2. Kat says:

    Merry Christmas! I’m so happy that everything is working out for you guys!

Leave a Reply

