It’s a Secret

The first time I went through IVF and FET I told everyone in my immediate family, select co-workers, and some friends.

Unfortunately, the select co-workers told other co-workers, and soon everyone at work knew. I was driving to the RE’s office 3 hours round trip several times a week (or more) so it was important that some of my coworkers and my boss knew but not EVERYONE. It was uncomfortable at work going through the whole IVF process when everyone knew but even worse after the miscarriage. It might sound weird but I didn’t take any time off work that wasn’t absolutely necessary. I took the day off for the d&c but went back to work the next day. Work for me is a great way to take my mind off things especially when it’s really busy. But, everyones’ well-meaning comments really didn’t help keep my mind off things. In fact, it brought me to tears a few times and that’s the last thing I want to do at work.

This time we are not telling a single person. Not one. In fact, if things don’t work out no one will even know we tried. If things do work out I have a feeling we won’t be eager to share the good news until we actually believe that it is going to be good news.

My family and friends were supportive and very sweet but for some reason it just feels right to not share with anyone this time. Maybe that is part of the reason why I started a blog. It’s nice to have a place to vent where no one knows who I am.

Tonight we’re going to the city to celebrate my birthday tomorrow. Guillermo has reservations at an awesome restaurant (I don’t know where, he’s going to surprise me). Then tomorrow we are going to two different museum exhibits that I have been dying to see. Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s a Secret

  1. Aspgriswold says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m looking forward to following along with you. I totally understand where you are coming from. It can be so hard to have people know when you are cycling. We are very open and sometimes I wish (especially during cycles) that no one knew. I just haven’t like having to tell people the bad news. Wishing you the best on this cycle and hope you have a happy happy b-day!!

  2. Amber Forster says:

    Hope you have an awesome birthday! I just finished reading almost our noire blog. What a story! I’m sorry for all your losses and disappointments. I look forward to following you. I don’t have a set date yet for my transfer but it may be around the time of yours! What is your first name and what state are you in? I know you are not wanting people to know very much about you so I understand if you don’t want to say. Good luck! Here is my email if you ever want to compare notes and chat!……. alforster86@gmail.com
    Amber

  3. Amber Forster says:

    Also I’m from our cradle will rock blog! Just to clarify 🙂

  4. Kat says:

    For our first IVF I told a hand full of people, and my grandparents (who are 80)…when I had my transfer she told everyone in the family that I was pregnant! Needless to say this time around we are telling almost no one, just my parents and my aunt and uncle…I hate not telling my grandparents, but I really don’t want to have to explain again if this one doesn’t work too.

  5. I’m with you on not telling anyone. Sometimes it’s just too much. Good luck and have a great birthday getaway! Sounds very romantic!

Leave a Reply

